?

The Spitfire Site

A Tribute to Britains Finest Fighter

» Forums Home  |  » The Spitfire Site

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Spitfire mkIX mk805 replica  (Read 9168 times)
simplyspitfire

« on: November 29, 2009, 10:03:56 PM »

Hi everyone i am pretty new to all this so you might have to bear with me. I am posting some pictures of my dads on going project building his mk IX spitfire. This is a full scale replica and has been made with alloy skins all hand rivetted as on a real spit. It has been made as a non flyer but he has used orignal drawings to build it so the overall result is like a real spit minus the engine. I am currently in the process of finishing a few minor bits, as over the summer i have finished spraying the wings. We are hoping to launch the spitfire to the public this spring but i have added a few pictures just to show how much time and effort my dad has put in to this and i think it about time he took some credit for his work. It has taken him over 20 years, and here she is back in the summer. Alot more has been done since this but the next time we release some more pics we are hoping she will be finished. The spitfire will also be available for hire after the release in the spring.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2009, 10:05:53 PM by simplyspitfire » Logged
Sopwith

« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2009, 10:44:26 PM »

Hi Simplyspitfire,
                         I must say the photos of your Dad`s Spitfire replica look fantastic.He must be a very patient man sticking at it for 20 years.Fantastic, look forward to seeing the next set of photos.Thanks
Editor
Administrator

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2009, 10:54:14 PM »

Shocked The sheer magnitude of your undertaking is completely beyond me. Stunning!

We're glad to have you onboard this forum, please keep us updated on your progress, and can we have more photos please.

Warmest congratulations to a splendid effort.