?

The Spitfire Site

A Tribute to Britains Finest Fighter

» Forums Home  |  » The Spitfire Site

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: spitfire compass (P.8)  (Read 12543 times)
jan.vallenduuk

Email
« on: June 13, 2010, 11:46:23 AM »

Hi
I am a newbie to this forum.
I have compass in my possion with the markings:
a small copper plate with written on it: a crown, A M and ref no. 6A/726
on top: type P.8 and No 18845 B
Is there anybody who can give me more info?
I would like to know where it comes from etc.
I actually picked it up on a scrapheap in Hermanus, South Africa.
The glass was cracked, so there is no more liquid in it.
I have also taken off the vials of radium from the "spider"and cleaned
and repainted the inside to get rid of the possible radiating paint.
I would like to know what liquid to use in the compass (could i use modern silicon based liquid or just alcohol ?)
I have some experience working with compasses. (used to work at a magnetic observatory in SA)
I now live in Alkmaar, Nederland.
A lot of the brass screws are missing and I would like to now where to find some(It looks like that small size is not readily available)
What kind of wood was the case made of? I have no wooden case and would like to restore the compass completely

Regards

Jan Vallenduuk
Spits

« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2010, 06:08:41 AM »

The P8 compass was pretty universal with midwar British aircraft.Alcahol is best for filling the compass up.Brass screws are all BA type and thread.The box is depending on Airforce it flew with.Have a pic here somewhere.
Edgar Brooks

Email
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2010, 09:55:29 AM »